Home / Gaming / ‘Gwent’ from the Witcher 3 turns into its own game, closed beta from October 25

‘Gwent’ from the Witcher 3 turns into its own game, closed beta from October 25

Technically it turned into its own game a long time ago; CD Projekt – the developers of The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt – announced that Gwent was going to become a standalone game back at E3 at the Microsoft event in June this year. Starting from October 25th, those chosen for the closed beta will be able to try the game out.

Gwent is a card game within The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt – essentially a game within a game. The game became extremely popular among the Witcher 3 players – so much that the players were “playing” Witcher 3, just to play Gwent within it.

The standalone Gwent game will be free-to-play for anyone – no need to purchase The Witcher 3 – and will come with its own competitive PvP mode built from scratch. Since the game is free to play, it will feature micro-transactions.

In an email inviting players to the closed beta, CD Projekt reveals that the closed beta starts from October 25th at 10 AM Pacific Time, 1 PM Eastern Time, and 7 PM Central European Summer Time. You can find a handy countdown for that here.

For now, the closed beta is limited to Xbox One and PC – but a PS4 launch for the final game is planned. Players are also going to be playing across platforms – so you could be playing cards against someone on an Xbox One, while you are on your PC.

The registration for Gwent’s closed beta is still open – you can register if you like, but there are no guarantees you would get in.

Check Also

Microsoft puts up the full WinHEC Keynote on Channel9

Microsoft held an incredible event today, giving us plentiful of news and surprises that nobody …